Florida DUI Manslaughter
Manslaughter Penalties for a Single Conviction
In Florida, the penalties for killing another person from a DUI conviction are extremely harsh. A single conviction for DUI Manslaughter is a second degree felony and may result in the following:
- 15 year prison sentence and heavy fines
- Permanent revocation of your license. You must wait 5 years before being eligible to apply for a hardship license in the Administrative Reviews Office (see listing "Under Suspension - Need Driver License for Work") where you live.
- Completion of DUI School, and treatment, if referred, and have a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program to be eligible for a hardship license.
If given approval to reinstate for a hardship license, you must present this approval to the driver license office, pay a $115 administrative fee, a $60 reinstatement fee and any applicable license fee. Proof of liability insurance on the date of arrest or proof of current liability coverage and a $15 reinstatement fee will be required. You must remain in the Special Supervision Services Program for the duration of the revocation period to retain your hardship license.
When Your Freedom Hangs in the Balance,
Who You Hire To Represent You Is Critical.
Let Me Help You Make an Informed Decision.
Source for this page: www.flhsmv.gov