Florida Third DUI Offense
Penalties for a Third DUI in Florida
If you've been arrested for a third DUI, then you are looking at felony
penalties for your offense:
- A year in jail
- Fines up to $5,000
- License suspension for 10 years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for 2 years
A Third DUI can be a Felony in Florida
DUI Felony Conviction: (Repeat Offenders or Accidents Involving Serious
Bodily Injury)-s. 316.193 (2),(3) F.S.
This can be any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth
or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000
fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).
A Third DUI & Your License
A third DUI conviction in more than 10 years will result in a 180-day to
1-year revocation, unless the last 2 of the convictions fall within 5
years in which case a 5-year revocation will apply. You are not eligible
for a hardship license, but must wait out the revocation period. A third
DUI within a 10-year period will result in a 10-year revocation.
How to Reinstate Your License After a Third DUI
While it may seem like a third DUI will strip you of all driving privileges,
this is not so. You can eventually get your license reinstated after a
certain time period. The FHSMV will require you to serve at least two
years of your license revocation before you can file for a hardship license
with the Administrative Reviews Office. A hardship license is often given
only for work or school purposes and provides limited driving privileges.
In order to obtain a hardship, you will need to complete DUI School and
a treatment program if required. You will also need to present a positive
recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program. If you receive
approval to get an early reinstatement, you will need to show this to
the driver license office in your area. You will have to remain in the
Special Supervision Services Program for the rest of your revocation period
in order to maintain your hardship license.
You can also seek to have your license reinstated after the revocation
period has passed. In order to get it reinstated, you must complete the
previously required actions for a hardship license, such as DUI School
and a treatment program. If you do not get the program completed, you
may have your license cancelled. You will be required to take an exam
for either your full license or hardship license and must pay a $115 administrative
fee and a $60 reinstatement fee. There may be other fees involved as well.
Get a Free Consultation!
If you've been charged with a third DUI, then you need to do everything
possible to avoid conviction. Contact skilled DUI attorney, Jonathan Blecher,
P.A. for trusted defense. He has had over 30 years of experience and has
several endorsements from attorneys and former clients!
Attorney Blecher has a rating of 10.0 Superb on Avvo and is listed among
the best attorneys in the state by Florida Trend's Legal Elite and
Cambridge Who's Who in Law.
Contact his office for your free consultation!