First DUI in Florida: What Are the Penalties?
By Jonathan Blecher on July 3, 2019
Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Miami or anywhere else in Florida? If so, I’m about to give you a crash course on Florida’s DUI laws, specifically as they pertain to a first DUI offense.
Under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes, it’s illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol, certain chemical substances, and controlled substances (both legal and illegal) to the point where they affect your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely. This means you can be arrested for DUI for driving under the influence of nitrous oxide, marijuana, alcohol, Xanax, and dozens of other substances!
It is also against the law to drive a motor vehicle with a blood-alcohol level (BAL) of .08% or above. Please be aware that it is not necessary to have a BAL of .08% or above to be charged with and convicted of DUI in the state.
Penalties for a First DUI in Florida
Now that we understand what a DUI fully entails, let’s take a look at the penalties for a first DUI offense under Florida law:
- A fine between $500 and $1,000, but if the BAL was .15% or higher, the fine ranges between $1,000 and $2,000.
- Up to six months in jail, but if the BAL was .15% or higher, up to nine months in jail.
- License revocation for 180 days to one year.
- A mandatory Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for six months if the driver’s BAL was .15% or above.
- If someone is convicted of DUI, they must complete DUI School if they want a hardship reinstatement.
The above is only the criminal penalties for a first DUI. If you are interested in learning more about how a DUI can impact your life, I recommend reading, “How Do I Avoid the Stigma of a Florida DUI?”
If you made a mistake and was arrested for the first DUI in your life, you’ll be interested in learning about the Back on Track Program and how it helps people avoid the stigma of a first DUI. To learn more about this valuable program, contact me today.