As a licensed driver, you’re probably well-aware of the fact that if you’re convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, your driver’s license will be revoked for 180 days to one year (first DUI conviction). But, what if you get into trouble for driving under the influence of a prescription medication or marijuana? Will you still lose your driver’s license for six months to a year?
Under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes, someone commits the offense of driving under the influence if he or she is driving a vehicle or under actual physical control of the vehicle in Florida and, “The person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, any chemical substance set forth is s. 877.111, or any substance controlled under chapter 893, when affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired.”
In addition to the above, a person is guilty of driving under the influence when his or her blood alcohol level is 0.08% or more. So, can you lose your license for a drug DUI? Yes, you can. The DUI law does not discriminate between controlled substances and alcohol. As long as an individual is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance and their “normal faculties are impaired,” he or she can be arrested and prosecuted for DUI.
Driver’s License Suspensions for Drugged Driving
If you are facing DUI of drug charges in Florida and you are convicted, the license revocation period will be the same as an alcohol-related DUI conviction.
- A first conviction is punishable by 180 days to one year license revocation.
- A second conviction within five years is punishable by a minimum five-year license revocation.
- A third conviction within 10 years of the second conviction triggers a 10-year license revocation.
- A fourth conviction leads to a permanent license revocation.
Are you facing DUI of drug charges in Miami? If so, I urge you to contact my DUI defense firm to schedule a free case evaluation. With over 30 years of experience, I am prepared to defend you in your DUI case!