POTENTIAL PENALTIES FOR A SECOND DUI CONVICTION IN FLORIDA
By Jonathan Blecher on March 30, 2023
A DUI conviction can have significant consequences, including losing driving privileges, fines and possible jail time.
The penalties can be even more severe for those charged with a second DUI offense.
FLORIDA PENALTIES FOR A SECOND DUI (WITHIN FIVE YEARS)
A second DUI offense in Florida is a misdemeanor. The penalties for a second DUI conviction include the following:
- License Suspension: The driver’s license of the convicted individual will be suspended for at least five years. However, the convicted individual may be eligible for a hardship license after one year of suspension.
- Fines: A second DUI conviction may result in a fine ranging from $1,000 to $2,000. If the individual’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is .15 or higher, the fine may be increased to a minimum of $2,000.
- Jail Time: A second DUI conviction within five years of a prior conviction will result in a jail sentence ranging from a minimum of 10 days to 9 months in jail.
- Community Service: A second DUI conviction may require the individual to perform some hours of community service.
- Ignition Interlock Device: The convicted individual will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for a minimum of six months. This device requires the driver to blow into a breathalyzer before starting the vehicle, and if their BAC is over a specific limit, the vehicle will not start.
It is important to note that the penalties for a second DUI offense in Florida may vary depending on the circumstances of the case. For example, if the individual caused property damage or bodily injury while driving under the influence, the penalties may be more severe.
In addition to the legal penalties, a second DUI conviction can have other consequences. If you are facing DUI charges, it is wise to learn what legal rights and options you have.