Whenever a Florida driver is charged with driving under the influence (DUI), it’s not long before they start to think, “If I’m convicted of DUI, how will my insurance premiums be impacted?” The answer, “They’ll increase…by a lot.”
When a driver has a major violation, such as DUI, their auto insurance premiums can skyrocket for three to seven years with many auto insurance carriers. Usually, a preferred rate is untouchable for a full five years.
How Much More Will Insurance Cost?
After a DUI conviction, the cost of automobile insurance is going to shoot through the roof. While insurance can increase from 28 to 371 percent, “The average percent car insurance increase for DUI is 80 percent,” according to insurance.com. In Florida, someone convicted of DUI can reasonably expect their insurance to increase by at least $1,300 a year.
What you need to know about DUI and auto insurance:
- A DUI conviction will lead to significant auto insurance increases for a minimum of three years, but five years is more likely.
- A driver’s insurance company typically will not automatically learn of a driver’s DUI conviction. They usually find out about it when the driver needs to obtain an FR-44 Certificate, which the insurance carrier must provide to the DHSMV in order for the person to be allowed to drive, or when the policy is up for renewal.
- Under Sec. 32.023 of the Florida Statues, when someone is convicted of DUI, he or she is required by law to maintain an FR-44 Certificate (financial responsibility certificate) for three years.
- Under Sec. 32.023, a driver convicted of DUI must carry much higher limits. They must purchase $100,000 for bodily injury or death for one person, $300,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more persons in a crash, and $50,000 for property damage. For someone NOT convicted of DUI, the minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 for property damage liability.
- If the driver convicted of DUI fails to maintain the FR-44 Certificate, the driver’s insurance company will report the lapse to the DHSMV, which will in turn suspend the person’s driver’s license. When the driver reinstates their FR-44 Certificate, the DHSMV will charge them a reinstatement fee.
When a driver is convicted of DUI in Florida, they are placed into the “high-risk driver” category. For many drivers, it can be tough to maintain insurance coverage after a DUI due to the costs alone, but any new moving violations or lapse in coverage can extend the high rates indefinitely.
Related: Tips to Improve Your Florida DUI Case