Miami First DUI Lawyer
Arrested for a First DUI Offense in Florida?
When it comes to charges of driving under the influence, law enforcement takes an approach of deterrence. They do this by making penalties for a first-time DUI conviction harsh enough to deter repeated offenses. Furthermore, the perceived danger to the public posed by someone driving under the influence of alcohol is great enough to warrant serious consequences. Lobbying groups, such as Mothers Against Drunk Driving (M.A.D.D.) push state legislatures, and the federal government, into enacting more serious consequences for a DUI conviction.
I am Miami DUI Attorney Jonathan Blecher, and I have over three decades of experience. Both my peers and former clients endorse my services, knowing me to be a tenacious advocate and knowledgeable about DUI laws. I have successfully defended over 3,000 DUI cases in both state and federal courts. Avvo has awarded me a rating of 10.0-Superb, and I have been listed in Florida Trend's Legal Elite and Cambridge Who's Who in Law.
If you have been charged with your first DUI, you should seek quality defense from a top attorney in order to protect your future and hold off the ramifications of a conviction.
Facing charges for your first DUI offense? Call my office to receive your free case evaluation!
What Could Happen If My First DUI Case Goes to Court
If your case does go to trial, meaning it could not be dismissed in preliminary hearings, you will have to defend yourself against the accusations. Most likely, the arresting officer will be there and provide plenty of stories of how intoxicated you were. With me in your corner, I can cross-examine the officer and pinpoint holes in their case to be exploited. It all comes down to doing all we can to protect you from an unfair conviction, as the penalties for a first-time DUI in Florida can include:
- $500 to 1,000 fines
- 50 hours of community service
- Up to six months in jail
- 12 hours of DUI school
- Up to one year of probation
- At least 180 days of license revocation
- Suspended license
It is important to note that these penalties can escalate depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at the time of your arrest. Amounts gauged over 0.15% usually double the severity of the punishments and also include an ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed on your vehicle.
Usually, the best way to avoid any of the serious consequences of a first-time DUI charge in Florida is to let a Miami DUI attorney come out fighting on your behalf. When I represent my clients, I know that I am fighting for their freedom, their finances, and their reputation.
What are the Penalties for a First DUI in Florida?
In Florida, a first-DUI offense is often charged as a traffic misdemeanor, but there are still many significant penalties associated with a conviction.
For those who have tested at a blood alcohol content level between .08-.149%, then you could face the following penalties:
- up to 6 months in jail
- fines up to $1,000
- license suspension
- community service
- DUI education classes
- vehicle immobilization
For those who have tested at blood alcohol content level above .15%, penalties are increased. Some of the penalties include:
- up to 9 months in jail
- fines up to $2,000
- license suspension
- community service
- ignition interlock device on vehicle
The Effect of a DUI Conviction on Your License
A first offense for DUI comes with license revocations of 180 days to 1 year, which is effective upon conviction. A defendant may apply for a hardship license in the county where he or she lives. This may be helpful for you if you need your license in order to keep your job or maintain your education. If referred, DUI school completion and alcohol treatment may be required after which, you may apply for a hardship license at any Administrative Reviews Office near your place of residence.
Even if you wait until your revocation period ends to reinstate your license, you will still need to provide proof of enrollment in or completion of DUI school and alcohol treatment. If you fail to complete the course within 90 days of your reinstatement, your license will be cancelled by the department until you provide proof that the course was completed.
At the time of reinstatement, whether for a hardship license or a full license, you must take the required examination, and pay $115 administrative fee and $60 reinstatement fee and any license fee required. Proof of liability insurance on the arrest date will be required or proof of liability coverage and a $15 reinstatement fee will be required.
Contact Jonathan Blecher, P.A. (305) 707-0036
If you have been charged with your first DUI, then you need to get trusted defense from a top attorney! I am Attorney Jonathan Blecher and I have more than three decades of experience. Both my peers and former clients endorse my services, knowing me to be tenacious and knowledgeable about each case. I have successfully defended over 3,000 DUI cases in both the state and federal courts. Avvo has given me a rating of 10.0-Superb and I have been listed in Florida Trend's Legal Elite and Cambridge Who's Who in Law.
If you are facing charges for your first DUI, contact at my office to receive your free case evaluation!
More than 30 Years of Dedication & Experience
Earned a Perfect 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating
AV Preeminent® Rating on Martindale-Hubbell®
Defended Thousands of People
Named a “Top Ten DUI Lawyer” by the Miami Herald
Defended More than 3,000 DUI Cases
Skilled Former Prosecutor
“He stays up to date on the most recent changes in the law and helps other attorneys understand those changes.”- Avvo
“I endorse this lawyer. A brilliant and highly respected attorney in the legal community.”- Avvo
“Jonathan was direct, gave sound advice, guidance, provided strategy, and was very responsive. This was all at a fair price. Communication was excellent (email, cell phone) and timely. I thank him for his no-nonsense approach and successful result. He is kn”- Michael D.