DUI School in Miami, Florida

When drivers are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), especially for the first time, they usually have questions. Will I go to jail? Will I lose my job? Will I have to take AA classes? Will I lose my driver’s license? Will I have to take alcohol education classes? Since alcohol education classes (DUI School) affect all drivers convicted of DUI, I’m going to explore DUI School further and explain how it works in a Florida DUI case.

When someone is convicted of DUI – either by pleading guilty or by a jury finding them guilty – they will face a series of penalties, with one of them being DUI School. Here in Florida, there are two different DUI programs for DUI defendants: There’s the first offender program, and then there’s the program for repeat DUI offenders.

Currently, there are about 24 DUI Schools throughout the state. These programs are run by non-profit organizations; however, they are overseen by the Bureau of Motorist Compliance. The Bureau is responsible for enforcing Rule 15A-10, F.A.C., which means the Bureau:

  • Conducts site visits
  • Processes people’s appeals
  • Is in charge of maintaining quality assurance
  • Evaluates the effectiveness of the programs

The two DUI courses offered are Level I (for first-time DUI offenders) and Level II (for multiple DUI offenders). The Level I course requires a minimum of 12 hours of classroom instruction, while the Level II course involves at least 21 hours of classroom instruction.

If you are a resident of Miami, you are in luck. We have several programs throughout the region. In Miami, the DUI Schools are the Advocate Program, Inc., which has four locations in Miami, and Metro Traffic School Dade County, which has six locations.

DUI School Requirements

In Florida, first-time offenders are required to complete DUI School in order to have their driver’s license reinstated. If a DUI defendant decides to wait out their revocation period, they must prove that they are enrolled in or completed DUI School to get their license back. If the person simply showed proof of enrollment, he or she must complete DUI School within 90 days of getting their license back, otherwise the license will be cancelled.

Those convicted of a second DUI, a third DUI, or DUI manslaughter must complete DUI School as well. DUI School is required for hardship reinstatement or to get relicensed after waiting out a license revocation due to a DUI.

Facing DUI charges in Miami? Contact my officeto schedule a free case evaluation. With more than 30 years of experience in DUI defense, I stand ready to help you.

Categories